Alexander Pushkin — The Queen of Spades and Other Stories, 2009 год

Автор статьи: admin / 1 просмотров
The Queen of Spades and Other Stories - Alexander Pushkin

Oxford University Press / Oxford World’s Classics
«The Queen of Spades» has long been acknowledged as one of the world’s greatest short stories. In this classic literary representation of gambling, Alexander Pushkin explores the nature of obsession. Hints of the occult and gothic alternate with scenes of St Petersburg high-society in the story of the passionate Hermann’s quest to master chance and make his fortune at the card-table. Underlying the taut plot is an ironical treatment of the romantic dreamer and social outcast.
This volume contains three other major works of Pushkin’s fiction, moving from the witty parodies of sentimentalism and high melodrama in «The Tales of Belkin» to an early experiment with recreating the past in Peter the Great’s Blackamoor. It concludes with the novel-length masterpiece «The Captain’s Daughter», which combines historical fiction in the manner of Sir Walter Scott with the colour and devices of the Russian fairy-tale in a narrative of rebellion and romance.
These new translations, as well as being meticulously faithful to the original, do full justice to the elegance and fluency of Pushkin’s prose. The Introduction provides insightful readings of the stories and places them in their European literary context. A chronology of the Pugachov Uprising illuminates the events in «The Captain’s Daughter».

ISBN: 978-0-19-953865-2
мягкая обложка, 336 стр.
Купить | Скачать | Читать онлайн

Оцените статью:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Так же интересно

Декоративные элементы для мебели своими руками
«Спокойный малыш» (электронная версия)
Видеосеминар «Стратегический анализ внешней и внутренней среды организации»

Смотрите так же:
  • Aleksandr Sergeevich Pushkin — The Queen of Spades and Other Stories, 1978 год
  • Pushkin Alexander — Collected Stories, 2003 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — The Captain’s Daughter and Other Stories, 1992 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — The Collected Stories, 1999 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Tales of Belkin, 2009 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Eugene Onegin, 2005 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Boris Godunov and Other Dramatic Works, 2009 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse, 2009 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Eugene Onegin, 2008 год
  • Alexander Pushkin — Eugene Onegin and Other Poems, 1999 год
  • Tags: , , , , , ,

    Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.