Charles Dickens — The Shorter Novels of Charles Dickens, 2005 год

Автор статьи: admin / 0 просмотров
The Shorter Novels of Charles Dickens - Charles Dickens

Wordsworth / —
This collection brings together perhaps the finest of Dickens’ shorter novels, filled with event, character, and the unsurpassed brilliance of his story-telling.
«Oliver Twist» enhanced and strengthened Dickens’ reputation and contains classic Dickensian themes — grinding poverty, desperation, fear, temptation and the eventual triumph of good in the face of great adversity. «Hard Times» was attacked by Macaulay for its ‘sullen socialism’, but 20th-century critics — George Bernard Shaw and F. R. Leavis praised it in the highest terms. «A Tale of Two Cities», Dickens’ greatest historical novel, traces the lives of a group of people caught up in the cataclysm of the French Revolution and the Terror. A fascinating range of characters and Dickens’ usual superb command of language combine to make this an exciting and tantalising story.»Great Expectations» traces the life of Philip Pirrip (Pip), from a boy of shallow dreams to a man of character. From its dramatic opening on the bleak Kentish marshes, the story abounds with memorable characters — the blacksmith Joe Gargery, the mysterious convict Abel Magwitch, the eccentric Miss Havisham and the beautiful Estella.

ISBN: 9781840220599
мягкая обложка, 1312 стр.
Купить | Скачать | Читать онлайн

Оцените статью:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Так же интересно

Типы угловых соединений
Подарочный комплект «История: наука или вымысел?»
История гномов

Смотрите так же:
  • Charles Dickens — Charles Dickens: Great Illustrated Novels, 2009 год
  • Dickens C. — Second Charles Dickens (box) (количество томов: 3)
  • Paul Shipton — Penguin Active Reading 3: Charles Dickens (+ CD-ROM), 2007 год
  • Charles Dickens — Best Ghost Stories, 1998 год
  • Dickens C. — First Charles Dickens (3-book boxed set) (количество томов: 3)
  • Charles Dickens — A Tale of Two Cities, 2008 год
  • Dickens C. — Charles Dickens (6 books boxed-set) (количество томов: 6)
  • Charles Dickens — Great Expectations, 2005 год
  • Charles Dickens — Oliver Twist, 2006 год
  • Dickens Charles — Bleak House (ill.), 2006 год
  • Tags: , , , ,

    Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.