Ian Crofton — The Kings and Queens of England, 2007 год

Автор статьи: admin / 4 просмотров
The Kings and Queens of England - Ian Crofton

Quercus Publishing (MacLehose Press) / —
From the reign of Alfred the Great — the first king of Wessex to call himself ‘king of England’ — in the 9th century, to the shock of Norman invasion in the 11th, and from the brutal vicissitudes of late medieval kingship to the comfortable ceremonial of modern-day constitutional monarchy, the story of England’s kings and queens is to a large degree that of England herself. Kings and Queens of England offers readable profiles of 59 English monarchs from Harold II to Henry VIII, and from Ethelred the Unready to Elizabeth II. Each monarch is elegantly profiled and the impact of their rule on wider English history clearly and concisely described and analysed. For every king and queen there is a detailed timeline, and the narrative is further amplified by display quotations, feature boxes, panels of key biographical facts, and — last but not least — by 150 lavish full-colour images. Ian Crofton recounts a 1000-year tale of murder, invasion, usurpation, adultery, divorce, civil war and revolution in a manner that is as entertaining as it is informative. The Kings and Queens of England is the perfect choice for anyone looking for an illustrated account of the English monarchy from the Anglo-Saxon era to the present.

ISBN: 978-1-84724-065-1
твердый переплет, 256 стр.
Купить | Скачать | Читать онлайн

Оцените статью:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Так же интересно

Интерактивный тренажер по математике для четвёртого класса к учебнику И.И.Аргинской и др.
Woodstar FieldDiary
Effect Office 3

Смотрите так же:
  • HarperCollins UK — Audio CD. The Monarchy of England: Beginning (unabridged edition) (количество CD дисков: 5)
  • Plantagenet Somerset Fry — Kings and Queens of England and Scotland
  • Dorling Kindersley — Kings & Queens (Ultimate Sticker Book)
  • Plantagenet Somerset Fry — Kings & Queens of England & Scotland, 2006 год
  • Terry Deary — Cruel Kings and Mean Queens, 2011 год
  • Ladybird Books — Ladybird Book Of Kings and Queens, 2005 год
  • G.S.P Freeman-Grenville — The Book of the Kings & Queens of Britain, 1997 год
  • Terry Deary — Cruel Kings and Mean Queens, 1995 год
  • John Cannon — The Kings & Queens Of Britain
  • Simon Martin — Chronicle of the Maya Kings and Queens: Deciphering the Dynasties of the Ancient Maya, 2008 год
  • Tags: , , , , , ,

    Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.